Raw turmeric relish

What I love the most is eating and reading. So, if the reading is about food, it is even more enjoyable as my two loves get combined :). I rarely  never comment on the forums I read though…hoping to change that soon as I feel it is more fun for those who write if people comment on their posts <hint, hint>. So, some years back I read about a kind of raw turmeric relish/pickle on Vikram Doctor’s blog in ET. Here is the link for those who are interested: http://blogs.economictimes.indiatimes.com/onmyplate/food-fables-the-scrabble-spice/.

This winter when I saw fresh turmeric roots in the market, I decided to fulfill this culinary dream and made the pickle  inspired by the recipe in the post. I am not extolling the virtues of this rhizome here as I guess if you will take time to read this post and make the pickle you already know how beneficial it is ;). Off to the recipe now:

 

Raw turmeric relish:

the-one

 

Prep time: 45 minutes

Sunning time: 7 days (optional)

 

Ingredients:

Raw turmeric: 250 grams

Ginger: a 2-inch piece

Lemons: 4-5 nos.

Salt: 2 level tablespoons.

Procedure:

  1. Peel the turmeric and ginger and wash them.
  2. Air/sun dry to get rid of all the surface moisture.
  3. Be ready to dye your hands, nails, clothes yellow: julienne the turmeric and the ginger.img_20170120_172025
  4. Put in the salt in the bowl containing the turmeric/ginger juliennes and mix thoroughly with a clean dry spoon

img_20170120_184350

img_20170120_185904

5. Put these salted ginger + turmeric juliennes into a clean sterilized glass bottle/jar and fill the jar with lemon juice ensuring that the pieces are completely covered. Screw on the lid and keep in the sun for around a week. You will observe some bleaching after keeping in the sun.

This is the bottle of freshly prepared relish on day one:

img_20170126_211032

This is what it looks like today (a month and 3-4 servings later):

the-one

Notes:

  1. This is more of a relish than a standard Indian pickle.
  2. Raw turmeric is an acquired taste: not for everyone.
  3.  This is a child- friendly pickle.
  4. I have increased the amount of lemon juice as I did not want to refrigerate the pickle. Go for lesser amounts of salt/lemon juice if you are planning to refrigerate it.
  5. This will keep well at room temperature in a clean dry shelf provided the pieces are always dipped in lemon juice and a clean dry spoon is used every time to take it out of the bottle.
  6. If using amba haldi/Zeadory, lime juice amount should be halved.

So, here is the recipe and the story of this culinary dream I was able to realise. So far, I have had this with daal-chawal, bread and cheese and upma and loved it :). Want to now what I did with all the lemon peels which were left after squeezing the juice for this recipe? I made another pickle out of them ;), but that, my friends, is a story for another day post.

Cheers!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

